The Guitar Refinishing and Restoration Forum Forum Index The Guitar Refinishing and Restoration Forum
This discussion forum is hosted by The Guitar ReRanch and was created to serve those interested in the arcane art/science of guitar refinishing and restoration. Those with all levels of experience are welcomed to participate.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Looking for a switcher

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Guitar Refinishing and Restoration Forum Forum Index -> Pick-ups, Amps and Electronics
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Graunke



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 2218
Location: Buffalo, MN

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 7:40 am    Post subject: Looking for a switcher Reply with quote

I can't find this on Google, but I'm looking for a switcher for amps. I want to run two different heads into the same cabinet. One clean head, and one crunchy/dirty head. All amp switchers I find, are just an A/B box, but I need it to reroute the output of the heads not just the input.

Anyone seen such a thing? I've got a great tone that I love for my crunchy distortion, and no clean option on that amp. So I think this is my only solution?
_________________
Making my world a better place, one Coors Light at a time.
www.dirtballdeluxe.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TBurst Std



Joined: 14 Aug 2013
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember you have to keep a load on both amps.

Here is 1 solution:

http://www.palmer-germany.com/mi/en/TINO-SYSTEM-Switching-System-2-Guitar-Amplifiers-to-1-Cabinet-with-Remote-Input-PTINOS.htm
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggwatt



Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 166
Location: Royse City, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Radial Headbone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graunke



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 2218
Location: Buffalo, MN

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2016 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is what I'm looking at currently. Came on good recommendation.

http://n-audio.net/two-amps-to-cabinet
_________________
Making my world a better place, one Coors Light at a time.
www.dirtballdeluxe.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Graunke



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 2218
Location: Buffalo, MN

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2016 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ordered the N-Audio last night. Will post results after it arrives.
_________________
Making my world a better place, one Coors Light at a time.
www.dirtballdeluxe.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
86runner



Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 2916
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any update on this, Matt? Asked a similar question and Roland pointed me toward this thread. How did the N-Audio work?
_________________
Alan

Grab yo git-fiddle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Graunke



Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 2218
Location: Buffalo, MN

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works awesome! Forgot to tell everyone!
_________________
Making my world a better place, one Coors Light at a time.
www.dirtballdeluxe.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lookslikemeband



Joined: 06 Jul 2006
Posts: 1032
Location: COLORADO

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey man....

I know I'm late to this and you got switcher that works...

But I gotta tell you... as someone who has played that type of set up for 20 years (2+ amps)... I would recommend trying out the Ernie Ball Stereo Pan pedal.... I've always found it allows to be build up or break down a song at any pace I want... As opposed to the *click* ---> DIRTY AMP! y'know??

Plus being able to blend the two and dial back tones...

Just my .02 cents!
_________________
Lance

Guitars and Parts for Sale!!!!

.....

You can't buff out a poorly prepped job.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HattyDamp



Joined: 23 Mar 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi...i am a new user here. I am also looking for a switcher. I would like to convert the -15V input to +5V/2A output non-isolated topology, kindly suggest the TI IC part numbers which could be do this and schematic diagram, Please suggest me TI IC in through hole package i.e. TO-220 etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrightKJ



Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 342
Location: Midlothian, VA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HattyDamp wrote:
Hi...i am a new user here. I am also looking for a switcher. I would like to convert the -15V input to +5V/2A output non-isolated topology, kindly suggest the TI IC part numbers which could be do this and schematic diagram, Please suggest me TI IC in through hole package i.e. TO-220 etc.


Geez... not asking for much... You do realize that an audio level switcher does not change voltage levels, right? If not, I would suggest that you stop whatever it is you're planning to do before you hurt yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RolandR



Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 8908
Location: Coastal Calif.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an ad on another forum someone selling a Radial Tonebone VT - Switch 2 heads into 1 Cabinet:
http://forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=73803
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
86runner



Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 2916
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RolandR wrote:
Here's an ad on another forum someone selling a Radial Tonebone VT - Switch 2 heads into 1 Cabinet:
http://forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=73803


I'm actually interested in this, I think. Guess I'll have to register just to have a conversation with the guy!
_________________
Alan

Grab yo git-fiddle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RolandR



Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 8908
Location: Coastal Calif.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

86runner wrote:
RolandR wrote:
Here's an ad on another forum someone selling a Radial Tonebone VT - Switch 2 heads into 1 Cabinet:
http://forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=73803


I'm actually interested in this, I think. Guess I'll have to register just to have a conversation with the guy!
That member "Sevenstringer" filps a lot of gear, especially Paul Reed Smith guitars.

Check how many posts he has on that bulletin board. Maybe you could PM him why he flips so much gear. You might soon to be one of his best customer or victim lol Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
86runner



Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 2916
Location: Nashville, TN

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RolandR wrote:
86runner wrote:
RolandR wrote:
Here's an ad on another forum someone selling a Radial Tonebone VT - Switch 2 heads into 1 Cabinet:
http://forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=73803


I'm actually interested in this, I think. Guess I'll have to register just to have a conversation with the guy!
That member "Sevenstringer" filps a lot of gear, especially Paul Reed Smith guitars.

Check how many posts he has on that bulletin board. Maybe you could PM him why he flips so much gear. You might soon to be one of his best customer or victim lol Wink


Well I bought it for $165, so I'll find out soon enough! Good price, though! Confused
_________________
Alan

Grab yo git-fiddle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RolandR



Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 8908
Location: Coastal Calif.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

86runner wrote:
...
Well I bought it for $165, so I'll find out soon enough! Good price, though! Confused
Glad I could help. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Guitar Refinishing and Restoration Forum Forum Index -> Pick-ups, Amps and Electronics All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group